The Problem With Contratempo

Tempo, one of the three pillars of Italian fencing, is something I’ve spent a good amount of time writing about. It’s inherently a broad topic and I don’t feel like trying to write out an entire book on it right now, but there is something in particular I want to take a look at.

Broadly speaking, we can say there’s four moments in the fight you can act. Right when your opponent enters your measure (primo tempo), after you have parried (dui tempi), while your opponent is attacking (contra tempo), and while your opponent is preparing their next move (mezzo tempo). Primo tempo is fairly straightforward. You just have to wait for your opponent to step in without closing off the most available line and strike. Dui tempi is also pretty easy. You wait for your opponent to commit to an action, respond defensively, and then assuming they’re still within measure you get a free turn on the board. Mezzo tempo is a good bit harder, but you aren’t responding offensively to a direct threat. You’re waiting for your opponent to disengage, change guards, or prepare a strike and then just move inside of their movement. It’s a pretty small window, but you aren’t currently being attacked. Yet.

Contra tempo I struggle with. I realize that theoretically it should be easier to act in than mezzo tempo, but I’ve just got too many things working against me. To start with, action will always be faster than reaction. By the time I realize I’m being attacked I’m already a step behind. If I’ve set things up really well so that I have the shorter path I might be able to make up for moving second, but that just doesn’t leave much wiggle room. If I fire while they’re still getting ready or after their blow has passed my body I’m in the clear as I’m the only one moving offensively in that tempo. I’d love to set a trap and spring it as my opponent moves in, but the window is just too small and my desire to not risk getting hit is appropriately high. Pulling it off would definitely make for a prettier fight, but at the end of the day I’m more concerned with efficiency than aesthetics when it comes to my martial exploits.

Maybe this is just me, though. If contratempo is your thing I’d be curious to hear your thoughts and listen to how you approach your own fight.

There are a few major opportunities to learn from me in person coming up.

This week I’ll be traveling to Vancouver, BC in order to teach a few different classes at VISS - https://www.vancouverswordplay.com/registration/

After that I’ll be teaching a standalone intensive on Giganti’s rapier just outside of Akron, OH on June 22nd. https://www.facebook.com/events/965422374828012/

Finally, I’ve been asked to teach an entire track on Bolognese longsword as part of a greater longsword symposium in southern Illinois, near St. Loius. Details to come.